DIGITAL TWIN

Factories, buildings, or plants with numerous controllers are difficult to oversee and maintain. A simple and quick overview of your control landscape is becoming increasingly important. You also need precise and up-to-date information on status, topology, software versions, network addresses, current project, boot applications, and application parameters. The same applies to the possibility of installing new software versions centrally and quickly on all desired devices and creating security via automated backups. In short: You need a tool to efficiently create value in an industrial environment.

The CODESYS Automation Server is exactly this tool. It creates a digital image in the cloud of every physically existing controller. You have full access to this image. From there you can find and explore all controllers in your network. The Digital Twin is born.

What can the digital twin do for you?

Thanks to the concept of the Digital Twin, the CODESYS Automation Server offers a multitude of advantages and thus a significant added value for you:

  • Central and easy management of all devices instead of management via external lists
  • Clear and up-to-date display of diagnostic information for all managed devices
  • Uncomplicated and time-saving rollout of identical applications on multiple devices
  • Immediate visibility of project assignments to devices instead of externally managed assignment tables

Online Access to all important Device Data and Functions

PARAMETERS

  • Adaptation of applications via parameter records – with only few clicks, no need for code changes
  • Persistent storage of parameters possible

STATUS

  • Transmission of the real-time status of all managed controls
  • Monitoring and visual representation of the current status
  • Knowledge of the software version installed on each device

APPLICATIONS

  • Easy assignment of boot applications to controllers
  • Installation of boot applications on any number of controllers
  • Easy update of boot applications
  • Display of the active application

LOCATION

  • Display of the topological location within the network
  • Localization on a geographical map
  • Display of the location on individualized layouts (e.g. hall plans, electric cabinets)

USER MANAGEMENT

  • Increased security by setting user rights at server level
  • Definition of user rights for PLCs
  • Reduced time and effort for user administration
  • Clarity thanks to central control of identity management

ONE APPLICATION ON ANY NUMBER OF PLCs

As a central interface, the CODESYS Automation Server allows users to install identical applications on a large number of PLCs in the shortest possible time. The result: A significant increase in efficiency along with a reduced susceptibility to errors.

EVERYTHING AT A GLANCE

With the help of the Digital Twin, you as a plant operator, application engineer or service technician always have a complete overview of your control networks that is precisely tailored to your needs. As the CODESYS Automation Server knows all PLCs in detail – in contrast to customary routers – it not only displays IP addresses but also the current software status of each device, the current application, and the application parameter sets connected to the devices. This allows you to detect immediately which controller needs a firmware update, whether a machine is in error-free operation, or which parameters can be used to optimize an application.

If you know the current status of your devices, you can react to a controller failure even if production does not stop or the failure would otherwise pass unnoticed. If, for example, the PLC of a mobile machine’s unit fails whose function is only used occasionally, you as the operator of the machine park will nonetheless see this immediately in the CODESYS Automation Server. This especially proves valuable if the machine in question is used someplace in the field.

BACKUP AND RESTORE IN CASE OF FAILURE OR REPLACEMENT

If a controller fails, the CODESYS Automation Server retains all information necessary to restore the previous, error-free status or even to configure a completely new device identically.

With additional functions, such as an integrated Ticket System and automated backups, the CODESYS Automation Server facilitates such tasks significantly, thus helping you to save time and money.

DISCOVER MORE USE CASES & BENEFITS

DIGITALER ZWILLING

Fabriken, Gebäude und Maschinenparks mit zahlreichen Steuerungen sind schwer zu überblicken und zu warten. Ein einfacher und schneller Überblick über Ihre Steuerungslandschaft ist zunehmend wichtiger. Sie benötigen zusätzlich genaue und aktuelle Informationen zu Status, Topologie, Softwareversionen, Netzwerkadressen, aktuellem Projekt, Bootapplikationen und Applikationsparametern. Ebenso die Möglichkeit, neue Softwareversionen zentral und schnell auf alle gewünschten Geräte aufzuspielen und über automatisierte Backups Sicherheit zu schaffen. Kurz: Sie brauchen ein Tool, um effizient Wertschöpfung im industriellen Umfeld zu betreiben.

Der CODESYS Automation Server ist genau dieses Tool. Zu jeder real existierenden Steuerung erschafft er ein digitales Ebenbild in der Cloud. Auf dieses Ebenbild haben Sie vollen Zugriff. Sie können von dort aus alle Steuerungen in Ihrem Netzwerk auffinden und explorieren. Der digitale Zwilling ist geboren.

Was kann der digitale Zwilling für Sie tun?

Der CODESYS Automation Server bietet durch das Konzept des digitalen Zwillings eine Vielzahl von Vorteilen und somit einen wesentlichen Mehrwert für Sie:

  • Zentrale und einfache Verwaltung aller Geräte, statt über extern geführte Listen
  • Übersichtliche und aktuelle Darstellung der Diagnoseinformationen aller verwalteten Geräte
  • Unkomplizierter und zeitsparender Rollout identischer Anwendungen auf mehreren Geräten
  • Sofortige Kenntnis von Projektzuordnungen auf Geräten statt extern verwaltete Zuordnungstabellen

ONLINE-ZUGRIFF AUF ALLE WICHTIGEN GERÄTEDATEN UND -FUNKTIONEN

PARAMETER

  • Anpassen von Applikationen über Parametersätze – mit wenigen Klicks und ohne Codeänderungen
  • Persistente Ablage von Parametern möglich

STATUS

  • Übertragung des Echtzeitstatus aller verwalteten Steuerungen
  • Überwachung und visuelle Darstellung des aktuellen Status
  • Kenntnis über die Softwarestände aller Geräte

APPLIKATIONEN

  • Einfache Zuweisung von Bootapplikationen zu Steuerungen
  • Aufspielen von Bootapplikationen auf beliebig viele Steuerungen
  • Problemloses Update von Bootapplikationen
  • Anzeige der jeweils aktiven Applikation

STANDORT

  • Anzeige des topologischen Standorts innerhalb eines Netzwerks
  • Lokalisierung des Standorts auf einer geografischen Karte
  • Darstellung des Standorts mit individuellen Layouts (z. B. Hallenplan, Schaltschrankansicht)

BENUTZERVERWALTUNG

  • Sicherheitsplus durch Festlegen von Benutzerrechten auf Server-Ebene
  • Definieren von Berechtigungen für Steuerungen
  • Verringerter Aufwand bei der Benutzerverwaltung
  • Übersichtlichkeit durch zentral gesteuertes Identity-Management

Eine Applikation auf beliebig vielen Geräten

Der CODESYS Automation Server agiert als Ihre zentrale Schnittstelle. Von hier aus können Sie eine Applikation ganz einfach auf beliebig viele Steuerungen spielen. Ihre Vorteile: Höhere Effizienz bei geringerer Fehleranfälligkeit.

ALLES IM BLICK

Mit Hilfe des digitalen Zwillings haben Sie als Anlagenbetreiber, Applikationsingenieur oder Servicetechniker stets eine vollständige und exakt auf ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnittene Übersicht über Ihre Steuerungsnetzwerke. Denn im Gegensatz zu handelsüblichen Routern kennt der CODESYS Automation Server alle Steuerungen im Detail. So zeigt er nicht nur die IP-Adressen an, sondern auch den aktuellen Softwarestand eines jeden Geräts, die aktiven Applikationen oder die mit den Geräten verbundenen Applikations-Parametersätze. Sie erkennen sofort, welche Steuerung mit einem Firmwareupdate auf den neuesten Stand gebracht werden sollte, ob eine Maschine sich im fehlerfreien Betrieb befindet, oder über welche Parameter die jeweilige Applikation optimiert werden kann.

Kennen Sie den aktuellen Zustand Ihrer Geräte, so können Sie selbst dann auf den Ausfall einer Steuerung reagieren, wenn die Produktion nicht stoppt oder der Ausfall ansonsten unbemerkt bleiben würde. Fällt etwa die Steuerung für ein Aggregat einer mobilen Maschine aus, dessen Funktion nur gelegentlich verwendet wird, so sehen Sie das im CODESYS Automation Server dennoch sofort. Dies ist insbesondere dann wertvoll, wenn die entsprechende Maschine irgendwo im Feld im Einsatz ist.

Backup und Restore bei Ausfall oder Gerätetausch

Fällt eine Steuerung aus, behält der CODESYS Automation Server alle notwendigen Informationen, um den vorherigen, fehlerfreien Zustand wiederherzustellen oder sogar ein komplett neues Gerät identisch zu konfigurieren.
Durch zusätzliche Funktionen wie ein integriertes Ticketsystem und automatisierte Backups vereinfacht der CODESYS Automation Server derartige Aufgaben wesentlich und hilft Ihnen so, Zeit und Kosten zu sparen.

Entdecken Sie weitere
Use Cases & Benefits